Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

For Sale

For a number of years now I have been taking photographs, but its only in the last few that I have tried to get my head around all the technical stuff and really understand how to create an exposure that I am trying to achieve - not just guess work, but to have a greater understanding of the relationship between ISO, Aperture and Shutter Speed and how they all interrelate with each other.

Also I am working on creating photographs that not only I enjoy looking at, but that others will also - and for a variety of reasons whether that be an appreciation of the image in front of them, or even a deeper meaning to what I am trying to portray.

But not only that - I also would love to be in a position to be able to sell my images (I suppose there are many of us with that same dream).

It started a number of years back, when I sold a simple image of some snowdrops - for a few pounds. The money was immaterial. What really got to me was that someone was willing to part with their hard earned cash to buy an image that I had created - a great feeling!

But since then not too much has happened - probably because I never really "pushed the boat out" when I probably should have - what was stopping me - probably a "Fear of failure" which when reflected on is crazy....what should I be afraid of? If no one wants to part with their cash then it does not mean that they do not like my images...no they just wish to spend their money on something else - fair play!

So a few weeks ago when taking my son to get his hair cut, that I decided to be "A little bit bolder than I have been in the past".

When I got to Fred's new premise, I noticed that the walls were quite bare - "could do with some photographs to brighten the place", I thought. So I spoke to him about the possibility of displaying some of my images....with the view that they would be for sale...Fred agreed - chose some images and now they are ready to be displayed at his new place of work.

A small start - and who knows what will be next....maybe nothing maybe something...only time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.