Among My Souvenirs

While digging in a cupboard looking for sewing patterns I came across what might be regarded as a bag of nostalgia. Naturally, I spent some time reading some of the letters and postcards it contained, which date from childhood to the '70s and early '80s. They may make a blip of their own.

Also in the bag was this collection of embroidered (or printed) badges, which were quite affordable souvenirs for an impecunious lass of sixteen, and added to over the following couple of years. Although intended to be stuck or sewn to ones coat or bag, only that of Leicester, my home town, was actually used - and I have no idea how.

It is obvious that I didn't travel far: to the West Country on family holidays, an A-level field trip to Snowdonia and to Rudyard Lake, day trips here and there, although there is another set (if I can lay my hands on it) from France.

I love a good wallow, so excuse me, I'm off to plough through another pile of old letters and revisit my friends and relatives from times past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.