Nine Weeks

That's the average gestation time for dogs or cats -- but for us, it's how long until we begin our Next Big Adventure!

We leave home the morning of May 11 and arrive late evening the next day in Brugge/Bruges, Belgium, a "bucket list" location for both of us. This UNESCO World Heritage Site offers a plethora of Belgian beer (Phil's favorite), chocolate, museums, and wonderful walking opportunities in a small, beautiful city with many canals.

I'm still researching all the details -- and trying to learn a little Flemish (closely related to Dutch) -- but I already know that the Friet Museum (Belgian Fries Museum) won't be on my "must see" list, as I'd prefer the chocolate museum!

We'd like to spend a day at Ypres, particularly as it's the centenary year of "the war to end all wars," and both of us grew up with John McCrae's poignant poem, In Flanders Fields. I can remember my grandmother reading it to me when I was small.

On May 18, we'll travel about 650 miles south by train and return for the seventh time to a tiny village in another country, one rich with Blipmeet opportunities -- and wine! More on that later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.