MrsPuff

By MrsPuff

Blackpool Bruiser

Those were the days.

I thought something a little bit light-hearted was in order, and as some fellow blippers have been putting up photos of their parents, I thought I would too.

Although this is a bit different.

After my parents were married in 1956, they went to England for about two years, on a working holiday, or ‘The Big OE (‘overseas experience’, as it’s called in NZ). My mother moved to New Zealand from Blyth, in England, with her parents, and brother in 1949, when she was 16.

This photograph was taken at Blackpool, obviously. Back in those days, a lot of the tourist towns had these hilarious boards, depicting humorous situations, and people would get their photos taken, as a souvenir.

My parents are gone now; my mother, from cancer, in 2000, and my father in 2003.

Thank you all for your continuing kind words regarding the passing of dear wee Myrtle, especially hpx, who recently lost her mother, so knows all too well the grief I’m feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.