Spring

Lovely day weather wise but started with the murderer swooping down just a few meters from me heading for one of the chickens I had just let out. Managed to shout loud enough to frighten it off but it then sat in the trees looking at me. One of four circling over us all day long. I suspect hen harriers. The last few years we have had a kite family nesting next to the house but they seem to have moved a bit further away. They can be seen in the distance. Shame as they probably kept the harriers away. Even the ravens seem to respect the harriers and rarely give us the usual warning when birds of prey are around.

Took the dogs for a walk on nearby fields, the dogs feeling it was time for a paddle and I enjoyed the first little bit of colour (a type of bluebell in a field) and a bunch of snowdrops right in the middle of a pasture, no doubt the reult of landing on a muck heap and then being spread out as manure.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.