reminisce

By reminisce

Books at bedtime

A favorite hobby of many and also mine. As a child I would read books like crazy. Enid Blyton was my favourite. I had read up all 25 Famous Fives, Secret and Mystery series, St. Clare's and Malory Towers and a few Secret Seven. I would often read late into the night despite my mom ushering me to sleep. She would switch off the room light, but I would continue to read using the light coming from the corridor into my room. I also had this habit of reading and finishing books at one go. If I picked up a book, I would have to finish it. I could never read books in parts for I would lose interest. I haven't lost this habit even today!

Once I grew out of Enid Blytons, I tried out Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, Sidney Sheldons and many other random books. I would read the ones my friends recommended, but never stick to one author as nothing seemed as fascinating. I was always looking for something new and unique to read. In this process I read the Jurassic Park, The Bandit Queen and many other books.

When I joined college, to my dismay, the college did not have any fiction in the library. Sadly, Hyderabad the city is not really famous for local libraries. My life got busy at college, and soon after I started working, I somehow lost this wonderful habit of mine. I have managed to revive it by beginning to read again in the last few years, but not as aggressively as I once did. Somehow life and times have become complicated and I get limited time to read. So now, I really choose what I want to read and that helps me relax like nothing else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.