'To The Hills & To The Town'

This morning we actually made it up to Mt.Dandenong to William Rickets Sanctuary by mid morning, it was another really beautiful and warm day. I haven't visited this Sanctuary since I was a kid about Dylan's age and I remember that I went with my Grandparents and actually met William Rickets himself who would have been in his eighties then I'm guessing. He sculptured these amazing aboriginal people and moulded them into the rocks around his property in the hills creating a magical fantasy garden. We wandered around the gardens for at least an hour or two and Dylan was absolutely in awe and took a heap of shots on his iPod Touch camera, so much so that he didn't want to leave this magical mysterious place. I've promised him that I'll take him back one day, just me and him.

We then drove into Olinda and had a beautiful relaxing lunch at Kelly's Bar & Restaurant. The menu was incredible here about 4 pages of food items and about 7 or 8 pages of drinks in the menu. I sampled one of the local beers which was fantastic but I can't remember the name of it now, will find out and buy some more of it to take home.

From there we drove the kids over to Ahma's house and MsMun and I went into the IMAX theatre at the Melbourne Museum to see Gravity in 3D. WOW, what can I say except I'm glad it wasn't any longer than it was as my body was so tensed up by end of it that it took me the next couple of hours to unwind and relax again. I got sucked right into the experience and felt everything like I've never felt before in any other movie. This took movies to a whole new level and I can honestly say that it was the best movie I have ever seen. It is a must to watch in in 3D on the HUGE IMAX screen with 15,000 Watts of sound pumping out around you and totally enveloping your senses. Also seeing it on the Worlds 3rd largest screen helped and I didn't even realise that I was wearing the glasses. I don't think watching this on a television screen could do it justice.

Another brilliant day playing tourists in our own town.

We're off early for a beach day tomorrow as it's supposed to be another hottie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.