Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Help!

Those of you blippers who got caught up in the game Bloxorz, thanks to a link by some kind soul on Blip, will not be surprised to learn that once I introduced it to some of the kids in school (on a Charity day, you understand; I would never dream of letting my pupils stop practising their scales for one day......), it became quite a "carrot". In other words, "OK kids, if you work really hard for an hour, I'll let you have 10 minutes on Bloxorz".

After all these years of teaching, what do you think makes me "cool" in the eyes of the pupils?

The fact that I have "starred" in a reality TV series? Nope.

The fact that I once swore down the phone to Sean Connery? Nope.

The fact that I have met Neil Armstrong & Buzz Aldrin? Nope.

It is the fact that I have completed all the 30-odd levels of Bloxorz - and more than once.
Now, here's where I need some more Blip help....
The school do a Krypton Factor competition on the last day of term - testing fitness, stamina, dexterity and problem solving. We did it last year, and it was a great success. Bloxorz was used in the problem solving & dexterity category.

We want to do a similar type of game this Christmas, and we want to find something of the same ilk as Bloxorz. I remember someone (could it have been Joe himself?) mentioning another game, (mazapan? patapan? tamazapan?) but I have lost the link. The great thing about Bloxorz is that there is no time limit. You can start each level again and keep at it until you are successful. It was easy, therefore to award points to teams on the basis on what level they reached.

Anyone out there got any suggestions?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.