The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Window-tax legacy

I was woken early by Bomble, but the day looked fine, so I got up and set about answering emails. We'd decided to go to the nearby village of Painswick, to the Arts and Crafts museum, a private collection that opened last year.

Malheureusement, it was closed when we got there; something that TripAdvisor had not prepared me for. The winter opening hours are shorter, but today defintitely smelled of spring. So we wandered around Gloucester Street, where the museum is located in an old church; then headed off for sandwiches and coffee in a restaurant of my choosing. The food was good, but it was rather dark in there, and afterwards I wished I'd chosen a tapas bar in a side street, with tables on the streets outside. The A46 runs through Painswick, so the back streets and lanes are infinitely more pleasant.

In the cemetery, I played around with the camera settings and the fisheye filter, but in the end I like this shot the best, because it shows clearly the filled in windows that are a feature of older houses in this area. The window tax must have been punitive (though I doubt if more so than the current ' spare bedroom tax' on tenants claiming social security benefits in the UK), and these blank spaces are commonly seen on old buildings.

I'm very tired now, but have to go and get supper together. It's been a beautiful day, for which I am supremely grateful. Looking forward to seeing more blue sky blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.