ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

For Love of The Parish

The Gaelic traditional game of football is played weekly by thousands of teams throughout Ireland and each club is based on the parish. No transfer fees apply. No transfer between clubs apply in general. You play with those you grow up with, with those you went to school with and you play with those you work with....They put their bodies on the line for each other every week. They are an extension of family. They are the lifeblood of every community.
St Maur's Thirds team manager asked me up today to photograph the new sponsored jerseys. How could I refuse? Robbie, the manager, has been painting my house for the past three weeks. The number 14, Liam, grows most of the vegetables he sells to me from his yard. My milkman is on the sideline as is my builder. My plasterer is out there as is a carpenter I sometimes use. If I need something/anything done by a local craftsman they are either here or are contactable by someone here. You give your all for those around you...you expect nothing less in return.....the parish demands you do your best whether for the First, Second or Third team, whether junior or adult.....it builds strength of purpose and resolve...there are days like today when I dig deep for this same resolve I played with......just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.