bgleyna

By bgleyna

Homesick

"...Why is our love imperfect,
Music only an echo of itself,
The light wrong?

We scratch in dust with sticks,
Dying of homesickness
For when, where, what."

- Carol Ann Duffy

"This poem speaks to a sense of feeling profoundly and existentially homesick, but not knowing what we are homesick for." - I identify completely, but if it wasn't for this book of poems and the idea of finding a photo to go with the poem, I would never have slowed down enough to recognize this feeling. Now what?

I tried to think of something in my life that conjured up a feeling of warmth and security, of being at home - something that I could feel homesick for. It was hard, but I came up with...my husband, my cat, my Bible and BuonGiorno!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.