WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Dogs

to be kept on short leads during nesting time so that we have plenty to shoot at when the chicks grow up.

Little Dog is generally on a short lead on the moors anyway because of her penchant for sheep but I do find the concern for little birds from game hunters a touch ironic.

Heading up the moor in the early sunshine and frost, I headed up to the right, hoping for a closer glimpse of red kites. To my surprise, rounding the corner, in front of my nose was a red kite swooping down the shallow valley. I sat and watched it for a time and was rewarded with another one flying in. A crow began mobbing them and they disappeared as quickly as they arrived.

I also spotted a stonechat but I've been trying to catch a half decent shot of a red grouse in flight for over a year (they are so fast and erratic) so today you have red grouse in flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.