Surveying the View

Firstly a BIG THANK YOU for all the comments, stars and Fav's for yesterdays Blip. Also thank you for my new subscribers, hello to you. You have all helped the picture reach the spotlight. This is the first time I have been in the spotlight and I never dreamt that I would have a picture worthy enough for the spotlight. Time is a bit short with being away on holiday, so please allow me to say thank you, and I'll catch up with the comments and journals a bit later.

So what have I been doing today, well 'Otter Watch' didn't go exactly according to plan this morning. No otter, no seal, but I did see a dolphin breach the water twice, but this was way out into the middle of the loch. I wonder what tomorrow's early morning will bring?

After breakfast we went to the Nevis Range to go up on the Gondola's to the start of the ski runs. On the way up we saw some more Red Deer below us, but the sun was too bright and the cabin windows were too steamy and scratched to be able to get a good photo of them.

It was brilliant being up in proper snow, again in glorious sunshine. We walked across to one of the view points on Aonach Mor, and had a wonderful panoramic view across the southern end of the Great Glen, with snow capped mountains in the distance. After lunch at the summit cafe I explored a little bit more with my Dad, while Mum did her Audrey Hepburn impression on the sun terrace. We then finally descended in the gondola again.

We then went on to Spean Bridge to the Commando Memorial, which I have blipped here. It was a very peaceful and moving place for the memorial. I have chosen this view of the Commando's on the memorial surveying the view of the mountain range where they carried out their training in World War II.

There is a clear night forecast for tonight, so I might try for some star photos because last night there was some cloud, so there weren't many stars visible.

Thanks for looking, and I'll catch up later when I have a wee bit more time, possibly after my holiday.

Some more pics from the holiday can be found here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.