Otter Watch is successful

Today has been another interesting day. When I got up early this morning I looked out of the lounge window to see that the Loch was mirror calm, so I quickly gathered my things together and dashed out down to the loch side to get some pictures. There were some clouds down at the far end which caught a bit of colour, but otherwise it was a cloudless dawn.

I had taken my binoculars with me and I was scanning for wildlife between photos. I briefly saw a seal, and a dolphin swam down the loch again, and after about 90 minutes of being outside I was on the verge of packing up, when I spotted movement in the water. It was an Otter!

I carefully gathered my gear and moved along the road to get a better view of the otter playing in the water. He then started to swim towards the shore, and then came out on to the waterline to eat some fish it had caught, before going back into the water. I must have watched him for about 30 minutes before he headed back down the loch. By this time my fingers were very cold in my fingerless gloves, so I retreated indoors for breakfast and a cup of hot chocolate.

After breakfast we spent the day in Glen Nevis under cloudless skies. We saw a pair of buzzards in the Glen, and for one brief moment we thought they might be Golden Eagles, but I don't think they were dark enough or quite large enough.

I might have a sleep in tomorrow now that I have seen (and photographed) the otter. It has also forecast rain for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.