Gowns and bonnets

Today I attended a conference for newly appointed staff, where we were given an overview and insight into the workings of this massive machine which is the University of East Anglia. Like many conferences, much of it was interesting but bits of it were ..... less so.

In one of the 'less so' moments I found my eyes drawn to this rather lovely wall hanging depicting academics in the robes they wear for degree congregations. I was reading about this the other day as -hopefully - I will get to attend as one of the ushers. Apparently those floppy hats, sometimes with a decorative tassel, that some academics wear are known as bonnets. Fancy that.

Then in the evening I went to an aerobics class which was brilliant. Yesterday evening it was body balance. I know now that my body is definitely more bouncy than bendy.

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments on my Blipversary yesterday. I do love this community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.