Mikey88

By Mikey88

Tavistock Rooftops

It was quite a busy and achieving day today. I began by fixing the oven. The fan was making a dreadful noise last night, so I removed the cover. The culprit was some unidentifiable, carbonised accumulation on the back of the cover. It took being chipped off with a mallet and an old screwdriver to remove it and sandpapering to make sure it was smooth.

While I was down there, I took the lamp cover off and cleaned that, so we now have a quiet fan and a bright white light, rather than a dull golden one.

Unfortuately all this was at the cost of what I hope is only a pair of strained ribs. To get at the oven, I had to lie prone and support my upper body on a small stool and first my right side gave a pop and later, the left and I now ache at the bottom of my ribs - especially when I sneeze!

After lunch it was off to the dentist, and as I don't have a car at the moment, it meant catching the bus. It came on time, but left me with an hour to kill before my appointment, so I walked up through a couple of alleyways- there are quite a few tucked away in obscure places around Tavistock - found my way to the viaduct and then walked back to the dentist.

One filling and an eye watering bill later, I set off back to the bus station by a different route. The picture is across the valley, showing the houses pouring down the hill on the opposite side. I eventually got home again at about ten to five.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.