Expectations

What did I expect from the dreariest month known to these parts other than exactly what it has delivered? Nothing, because I know better, having lived here for twenty-three years. I do enjoy the misty coolness though, the very moist air that you can feel on your skin.

There is a school of thought about expectations as it pertains to people. It states that if you have and express high expectations, most people will come through and meet, and perhaps even exceed your expectations. In rare instances that holds true; when an individual rises to the challenge and surprises you.

The same goes for special events. In my experience, if you look forward to an event too much, it rarely meets your expectations. Some of the best events I've attended were the ones that I didn't feel like going to at all. Go figure.

Expectations...easy to have them dashed. Most adults will say that they try hard not to have them. I tend to hope rather than expect, it's marginally safer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.