Sunrise Tree

We transitioned to daylight saving time this past weekend, and since the clock change, my morning drive to work coincides with the sunrise. Which is an awesome thing for someone like me, as sunrise is one of my favorite shows to watch.

On this particular Tuesday morning, I didn't know it yet, but a gorgeous, warm spring day was in store, complete with a blue-sky afternoon that just might break your heart. The kind of day when everything seems possible; and in which hope springs eternal, as they say, within the human breast.

So it was morning at this point. And I was driving past one of my favorite trees when I saw the golden orb of the sun rising behind the hill. A nearby church parking lot provided a safe place to pull over for pictures, and so that's exactly what I did.

I stood there for five minutes or so, watching the sunrise, and capturing it scene by scene as the golden orb rose through this tree. I don't usually prefer monochrome shots of sunrise, as the color is usually at least half of what there is to crow about.

But oddly enough, in this case, my favorite photo of the set turned out to be this one. And so here it is: my sunrise tree in mono, looking a bit unearthly, like some strange scene straight out of the Land of the Midnight Sun.

The song: Asia, Midnight Sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.