A plant to remember...

I heard yesterday that an elderly relative, who had not been well for a few years now, had died and that the funeral was today. Fortunately I was able to get away to the funeral and was glad I had. It was actually a thanksgiving service and very lovely too.
He had been a Canon out in Kenya in his earlier life and although we were missing the exuberant singing of an African choir we sang some very uplifting and favourite hymns instead.
On my way home I found myself stopping at a garden centre.. not entirely sure what made me drive in to be honest but he had been a wonderful gardener when younger and so it seemed like a fitting place to find myself. I decided that I would buy something in his memory for my garden and was on the look out for things in flower. This Almond blossom caught my eye but in the end I bought an Exochorda x macrantha 'The Bride'. It will have cascades of white flowers in the spring and seemed very suitable since he actually took my wedding service. There are buds on it and so I hope it will go from strength to strength.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.