Dougal

Woke up today feeling quite good, including the ribs, so was willing to undertake a small car journey. As a result of this Mrs GOG and I went into Cambridge to the Beehive Centre to get a few odds and sods that I wanted. We had a good look around, got all of the bits that I wanted and I also came home with a Raspberry Pi. For those who do not know the Raspberry Pi it is a very basic computer kit that can be programmed very easily to do most things that you might want to do. It is not capable of doing all that a modern PC will do, but it will interface with most things and unlike a PC which does what it has been told to do by its programmer does exactly what you tell it to do. For anyone who remembers it consider it as being like a BBC B computer in kit form, but many times more powerful. Since I was brought up with computers, from 1962 onwards, this is far more powerful than the machines I first worked on, but is just as easy for me to get to grips with so I should have hours of pleasure with this toy.

Since I never took a camera with me and even if I had did not see much that I wanted to blip, Dougal exploring the debris left behind by the flooding in our garden a couple of weeks ago, presented a very good picture once I got home.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.