The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

One a penny, two a penny...

'My' class made hot cross buns yesterday. I wasn't there, because I am part time, but when I saw them this morning I just had to ask if I could photograph them! Of course my colleagues think I am a bit nutty, but they probably would anyway.

By 1.30 when I left work, the sun had emerged from behind a cold, heavy mist. I grabbed a sandwich and went down to Stratford Park. Mummy Swan has laid her eggs and is sitting on the nest on her man-made island in the pond. Two little boys were running around, feeding bread to the ducks. Every few moments, one of their sudden movements would cause a flock of pigeons to flap upwards in alarm, and swirl 360 degrees, before alighting on the branches of an overhanging tree.

It was all very peaceful, but I decided to stick with the plan and go to the cinema to see Grand Budapest Hotel. I suppose it's a spoof action-adventure film, set in pre-world war II central/eastern europe. I enjoyed the location shots, and the wit of the main character. The plot is ludicrous, but then again it's meant to be.

In an aside, I must mention that we were without internet for a short while this morning (o2 sold out and transferred us to Sky! Grrrrrrr). I did manage to sort it out quickly with a couple of calls, but at one point we thought we might be 'cut off' until 12 noon. At that point, I did wonder what we'd ever done in the dark days 'before the internet' (way back as far as, uh, 1998!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.