todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Last one standing...

I spent time in the town's east end today - on foot. It was lovely. It's been a while since I passed through with time to stop and look.

This grand building was one of 7 high-rise flats, built on a hill, masters of all they surveyed. I remember them emerging from the ground when I was a wee girl, in the 70s. They looked amazing.

The scheme I lived in had 5 giant beauties and we had such fun playing in and around them - jealous of our chums who were lucky enough to live in one. And our parents loved them too. They seemed like practically perfect social housing.

One of my chums had relatives visiting from the USA a number of years ago and the tourists looked up in awe - saying "wow, how much does a condo cost in one of those babies..." Prime real estate!

I wonder what went wrong. Within 20 years you couldn't give a flat away in a high-rise.

Only one of the original 7 flats remains. And it still looks beautiful. The tales it could tell...

Today outof10? A reminiscent 8.3 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.