Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Pollokshields Burgh Hall, Glasgow

I went to the Burgh Hall this morning, to see if my necklace had been handed in. Sadly not, but the official on duty did point out their new Saltire flag flying high against the solid blue sky. We also discussed the use of the upper part of the building, next to the tower. He told me it is a small flat, currently unoccupied.

The Hall was built in 1887, designed by Henry Edward Clifford, in 17th century Scottish Renaissance style. Dark red sandstone, with a 60 foot high tower. Very grand inside too, with beautiful stained glass, ornate cornicing and wood panelling. I've celebrated with friends here at their wedding.

The gentleman at the Hall suggested I go in search of Hector in the Park. I found Hector's House ... aka portacabin. He was a very "Helpful Hector", but sadly, no necklace found by any of the gardeners. They will keep an eye out for me though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.