Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Luminous Hopper

I saw this hopper at the Grove the other day and so I decided to return this morning to collect images for my records and a blip. I have close to twenty different species of hopper, but no record of this one in my files.

What struck me was the luminosity of this bug, in fact it looked quite false and so I actually edited it down a tad, but then changed my mind and switched it back, after all, It is what it is. Despite its very bright appearance, if you take your eye off the target for a second, it still gets lost in the vegetation.

I am so surprised that I have never seen this one before. I certainly could not have missed it, so I think it is a new infestation. I couldn’t find an identification, the Indonesian FOBI website doesn’t cover hoppers very well, or anything else for that matter, so if you want to have a go at an ID, be my guest. The long eyes, stocky legs and short antennae identify it as a grass hopper, so that is a starting point.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.