Beckett

By Beckett

MEMORIES......

....... today of a VERY "Special" person and to Wendy and I a special place!!!

Had a good friend of some 45 years finally loose his battle to cancer last week and today was his funeral. Robin and his wife have lived on the Central Coast of New South Wales for some years now, so his service was held at PalmDale Memorial Park at Orimbah. What a lovely setting!

The after "remembrance" gathering was at the Norah Head Surf Life Saving Club. Right on the beach overlooking the ocean.

Met Robin originally when I worked in Adelaide in the 1960's, and he was the Asian manager of a UK company William Hounslow Dyestuffs based in Honk Kong. We were their agents in Australia. Then when I was transferred to Melbourne with work still had contact with him as by then he had transferred their office to Melbourne.

When Wendy and I met she actually lived in Newcastle and the link now with Norah Head... I proposed to her there in 1969. (This is a back Blip of a sunrise I did there on 28th September 2009)
I again transferred with work to Sydney in 1971 and we settled here then.

My contact with Robin and his family continued as they also transferred to live in Sydney just after that.

Enough ramble... it's been a big day - a lot of "memories" as mentioned and the "good byes" to a good friend!!!

So, my Blip today goes into my journal of Norah head looking back at the Lighthouse.... now a "double" link in our memories.

Enjoy. have a look in LARGE, and thanks if you have read my rambles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.