Plus ça change...

By SooB

Really tall

"I'm really tall mam" said Conor as we wandered over the secret beach. Well, I couldn't really argue with that.

Left to right: Mr B, me, Conor. Katherine was at some invasion games session put on by the folk who organise the local kids' sports clubs. Not sure she liked it. She said it was just full of noisy people shouting a lot. I guess she's just not built for invasions then. We liked our walk though. The 'secret beach' is not really a secret - but there's never anyone else there. Bit on the breezy side today though - which may explain why we had it to ourselves (well, us and one crazy guy in a kayak).

Found a job to apply for today. Still not quite sure what I think about going back to work, but I'd better go and see if any of my old suits fit me (perhaps the maternity one - or would that put them off?) in case I get an interview.

Also, the local council where we have our house in France has invented another lovely local tax for us to pay. That's three now - and I'm not convinced I know what any of them are really for. Years ago when there were only two I asked the lady in the local Tresor Public to explain the difference. She took the first bill and said in french "This one is for the land that is built on" and the second was for "the building that is on the land that is built on". Suddenly our local taxation looks quite clear and simple... (and cheaper).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.