An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Saturn Calling...

This Blip, taken about 23 hours ago, brings me up to date.

Couldn't resist the fog that abounded much of the south last night and so before it got too thick, nipped out.

Still rather tender in places that modesty prevents me from mentioning specifically, after that rather mammoth hike around Christchurch Harbour, I didn't want to go far - or take too many.

What to some may seem like a technical error, the 3/4 moon has created a Saturn-like streak... the condensation on a warm lens suddenly being exposed to the very cold night air, has created a strange misty halation.

The leaning telegraph poles really did lean, this is not due to the wideangle. The rather clumped-up featureless mass on the right just didn't look right when opened up with shadow detail, it was the wrong colour and too sharp. Black and white didn't work very well, either.

The colour is from a mixture of normal clear night-sky, the fog and faint glow from city lights.

Today was my Aunty's 80th birthday - and tomorrow we are having a party for her. I'm not that close to her, at least compared to my father who she now lives with but it will be nice to take a few snaps for the family album. It won't involve karaoke or male strippers (I hope!) and I probably won't be blipping from it.

Lens is, again, Nikkor 10-24mm

Have a great weekend, everybody!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.