An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Bridging the Ages...

My Aunt Sylvia, 80 years - left - meets Max - right - 10 weeks, this afternoon, at her Birthday Party.

No, I wasn't going to Blip any of the family or from the Party but I kind of had a good omen. From the top deck of the bus, who should I see, enjoying the spring sunshine and wearing a ridiculously too small a T shirt, with a six inch gap and his (large) belly sticking out?

Yes, Julian! My friend - and now yours too - and I was just so cheered by him just being himself, walking around and in his own little world that I felt people-orientated and that I should put up a Blip to show the celebrations that were to be getting going at the end of that bus journey.

Max is Nelly's son, delivered by C-section in January. Nelly has been one of Sylvia and my father's carers for over a year, until the obvious happened and she went on maternity leave as late as she could. My brother is their other carer, with Wendy, who has taken over from Nelly....

It is not my father on the sofa next to Sylvia, but an elderly friend of my brother and my brother's wife. Edward (father) is in his own favourite reclining chair on the right, out of the pic. I had also captured a similar shot to this with Edward greeting little Max, indeed it is a better picture and as Edward is older than his sister, has even more resonance, but it was Sylvia's day, after all.

She had just had her hair done, as usual and the salon even presented her with a birthday bouquet of flowers! How about that for service?

Yes, there were posed pics that were nice as well as close ups of the wonderful cake that Nelly had made - and expertly iced 'Sylvia 80' on and other pics - which my Nikkor 18-200mm VR coped extremely well, all without flash, the VR really coming into its own.

Took Jack Russell Milo for a walk, as usual on the Common.

So tired now, a stack of party food brought home and in the fridge - the old couple have very poor appetites - and feel SO tired. I have to get the many pics of Nelly and Max up onto Facebook for her to see and to share the day and the others with my cousin in Germany and my brothers and his friends, many who are in Spain. This also feels one of my more rambling texts, for which I apologise, but it is one of those so happy tireds, but I cannot seem to think properly, so will sign off for a few hours.

Hope you're all having a super weekend!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.