Keith B

By keibr

Staybrite - still bright after all these years

Yesterday's picture of the dog on the train was a quick snap, caught on the moment. Today's is a more considered image though initially it was luck that the spoon with a strong shadow was lying on the wood surface, being used for my morning tea. I adjusted the position of the spoon a little to maximise the shadow.
Jan reminds me the spoon came from her childhood home and was as old as she was. It is a stainless steel spoon from a time when stainless steel was a relatively new form of cutlery. On "Large"you can see the words cast into the back of the spoon.
Shadows are interesting subjects for an image for me. Like a photo, a shadow is a 2 dimensional representation of a 3d world. I thought about removing the spoon altogether and doubling the shadow so it reflected itself but then I saw all that detail picked out by the low light and so left the spoon in place.
I'm very satisfied by the amount of detail the new camera picked out in both the spoon and the wood!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.