Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

The sun God

I spoke too soon when I wrote that Igor was getting better; last night he was quite poorly, and he continued miauwing and pacing up and down long after he'd had his breakfast.
It was quite out of character for him, so I decided to call the vet's surgery again, ahead of his check-up appointment next Tuesday.

The receptionist said that there was an appointment open, could I come along in 15 minutes?
Urm, of course! (I was still sitting in my dressing gown, drinking coffee at that stage). I dashed upstairs, combed my hair, slapped on foundation and mascara, dressed quickly and hopped on the bike, Igor and pet carrier in hand. I made it to the surgery with 4 minutes to spare!

To cut a long story short, the vet is still mystified, tests show nothing out of the ordinary, but his behaviour still points to an over-active thyroid (for which he's tested negative).
I was concerned that his miauwing was signifying that he was in pain, so he was given a painkiller, and some different pills. I'm to call the vet on Monday, to see if there has been any improvement in the weekend.

When I got back, I let him out of the pet carrier, and with the intention of giving it a good clean, put it down in the sunshine whilst I went to get a bucket and some water.
When I came back out in the garden, His Royal Highness was sitting atop it, basking in the sunshine! He just looked so cute, I had to have this as my blip!
(If you look closely, his right leg is still bald where they shaved it to take blood samples last week).

My partner telephoned me to find out how Igor was, and decided to take the afternoon off, then he drove down and took me out for a drinkie at a Spanish cafe at the local harbour. It was a sunny afternoon, so we sat outside, overlooking the water. Lovely!

Have a good weekend folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.