Tim and the Hat

I think I needed to blob today, and I feel like I mostly have done. But I'm really not very good at it. I've been fighting the feeling all day long, dithering over and dallying around the jobs that need to be done and wasting a lot of time in the process. I had to make two trips into town to get stuff because first time around I forgot my card and had no cash. Both took forever because I kept bumping into people I'd not seen in years. That was cool though. They asked after the boys and were genuinely shocked when I told them that they are now both at University. How time flies.

I kept thinking about getting out for a bike ride, or a run, but after missing all the glorious weather of last week I found it hard to get enthused about today's greyness and very strong winds. I convinced myself that I was better off taking a day out to restore energy levels. Last week was really full on.

Tim here sells the Big Issue in Ilkley. He's such a lovely guy. His hat is really quite something and it's clear he's very proud of it. He told me that he was once made an offer of £1,500 but he would never part company with it. It's very much part of his identity. I've promised to bring him back a Shamrock pin from Ireland to add to the collection. Hopefully it will bring him some luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.