earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Top Plantation

The North-South weather divide this weekend has been quite extraordinary. Tales from youngest son in London of sunbathing and barbecues contrasted with frozen hands taking pictures and being literally blown off my feet on the moor up here this morning. The wind was ferocious. The forecast was for brightness first thing turning to greyness and rain in the afternoon so I made the effort to get out early to catch a bit of good light. It was quite an effort of will though. I've felt very lethargic again but I have at least got most of the jobs done that I needed to this weekend.

I tend to think that I know the moor like the back of my hand and have just about taken every good angle there is to be had. This is a new one though. The sun broke through illuminating these trees but I was in the wrong place to get a good shot because my own shadow was in the way. It's very broken ground here and I almost had a disaster moving too quickly in the very gusty wind, trying to get to where I wanted to be. I just about managed to save myself as well as the camera. I missed the shot but found the right spot and determined to wait for the sun to reappear. It proved to be quite a long wait in the end, during which time I got very cold, but it was worth the effort. And in the process I also discovered a lovely new little trail. That's always a bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.