SilverImages

By SilverImages

Postcard from The Bridge

Yes, I know it's not one photo but I'd made the effort to go down there and take the shots and it seemed like a good idea at the time.... they were all taken this afternoon/evening.

And did you see that beautiful moon rising this evening as the sun dipped below the ridge? What a day.

Phone call from this K2 morning as I was catching up on the past week on Blipfoto, warning me there'd be some photos on Facebook of her leg in plaster. Fracture of the fifth metatarsal - according to Wikipedia quite a common one and sometimes called a dancers fracture [which I'm told is how she got it, sort of] and quite a common stress fracture among athletes. End of term yesterday.....

Settled down to watch the match this afternoon, Wales play Scotland in their last match of the Six Nations. What a final score. Must have motivated me because no sooner had it finished than I was itching to take the camera out and capture something, anything. Conditions superb and I wanted to get something of the sky, so I dragged the car out and headed off to Newport to spend a little time with my favourite footbridge.

I'm not the only one there taking photos, good to see others irresistibly drawn to get some photos on an evening like this. Only went to get the one but I took about fifty shots and played around with a few to get something I'd be happy to post.

The title came to me and when I looked it up I found out the song was written [and performed] by Paul Simon [& Garfunkel]. I'm a great fan of their music but I do prefer The Bangles version. When I looked up the lyrics it also seemed appropriate to the photo and the weather conditions recently [although no patch of snow on the ground yet].

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.