Another Oxford NY home

Yes, yet another older home within the village limits. This style is what I believe is called Georgian. That glassed in square at the top is a "widow's walk". It was most popular nearer to the ocean for wives of fisherman and whaler's to be able to climb to the top of the house and look out to see if their husband was on his way home.
I could be that the widow's walks here are more of an affectation since we are hundreds of miles from the ocean.
I think this house was built in the mid-1800's. It has been added on to on the right side and back.
Now, I think after this home we shall have a little architectural break! I don't want to be accused of boring my blip-fans, Also the greatest sign of spring is making an appearance along the village streets. the sap collectors for making maple syrup.
Right on schedule to. If you look back a year ago I think you may see them.
And tomorrow is a big potluck brunch party in honour of St. Joseph and St. Patrick. O promised to get a blip of the King Arthur's Rum Cake I made for the occasion.
Time moves us on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.