Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Gimme five

Today I have diverged from my Pentax Forums challenge shot. That, seen here on Flickr, is of the common myna, which has been declared one of the world's most invasive species. I had thought it was limited to out-competing other species, fighting and so on; recently I read that they actually do things like killing rosella chicks in the nest. Damn sods.

From Wikipedia: "The range of the Common Myna is increasing at such a rapid rate that in 2000 the IUCN Species Survival Commission declared it one of the world's most invasive species and one of only three birds in the top 100 species that pose an impact to biodiversity, agriculture and human interests.[4] In particular, the species poses a serious threat to the ecosystems of Australia where it was named "The Most Important Pest/Problem"."

I like the picture I got of it though.

For my blip though, I couldn't really go past this of my lad's pleasure and enthusiasm, having swum (dog-paddle) over half the length of the pool to his instructor - here being splashed by the vigour of the five that was given. ;-)

Click to enfivenate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.