My Aim is True

By MAiT

Scotland at play, eh?

Scotland at play, eh? I'll give you Scotland at play.

Despite being rather tired last night, insomnia on Wednesday, and mad late night on Thursday, I found it rather difficult to fall asleep. It sounded like the auditioning for Stomp was happening at about 3am outside my window.

It finally stopped.

Then at 7.45am. YES, that's 7.45 AM, a neighbour decided to play SuBo's Wild Horses at FULL VOLUME. Now, no one is more surprised than myself that I actually like this version (despite the start being almost Kate Bush-esque; if I never hear Kate Bush's Wuthering Heights again, it will be too soon. And Imagine, and Whiter Shade of Pale. Oh, and Bohemian Rhapsody, and probably everything else by Queen; anyway....) BUT I do not want to hear it at 7.45am on a Saturday. I can't work out which of the two neighbours it is, but would hazzard a guess that both of them will be SuBo fans....Whoever it was, played it a couple of times, each hour until 11am.

I wandered into town late afternoon to see what's what and decided to visit the castle because it was free today (St Andrews Day). I knew to leave off until later because it would be mobbed.

I was going to blip the floodlights at Murrayfield Rugby Stadium from there - Scotland at Play (do you see what I did there?) however it was just too dark and misty facing that way.

So this is facing east. You can see the wheel in Princes Street Gardens. Also just at the right of this blip you can see some floodlights. I think this could be a minor Edinburgh football team playing. I'm not sure of their name though, as they're not very important, I am sure it's something like 100 years since they won anything.

Then I went off to Princes Street Gardens where there is the heady smell of tar (tramworks ) and mulled wine (German tat market) and lots of neds lurking about. Rather than mulled wine I opted for a cup of "The World's Best Hot Chocolate"*

In St Andrews Square the St Andrews Day celebrations were limping along. An excrutiating embarrassment. So I jumped on a bus, headed home for the pizza that didn't get eaten last night, due to the bizarre and alarming sight through the cafe window.


* the description advertised by the vendor. Certainly not the opinion of this customer.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.