The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Whimsy Meets Folk Music

There I was, desperately crawling through the thick underbrush of the Okielockauanee Swamp in Yeehaw Junction. Feverishly delirious, malnourished and dangerously dehydrated from days of wandering aimlessly, I stumbled on a clearing and collapsed at the edge of a small mangrove copse. Then, just when it seemed as if there was little else that could possibly go wrong, I heard a rustling in the bushes. Curious, and perhaps hopeful that it was a search party sent out to find me, I came face to face with the dreaded Blue Frog, a vicious beast named for the colors of the distinctive markings on it's face. With no weapons and very little strength, I dimly remembered an old saying about music and the savage beast and started to sing a folk song I sang back in my days on the coffee house circuit.

It worked, thank the lord it worked. The frog stopped it's menacing advance and a strange look came over her face as she said .... "Peter, oh Peter it's you. Where are Paul and Mary?"

I replied, caring little that this was probably nothing more than a swamp fever delirium "Here they are Big Blue, here".

.... and the adventure continues.

PS: There really is a Yeehaw Junction in Florida. Driving back from the Keys one time our car broke down there ... but that's a story for another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.