Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

From a bygone era....

I pass this ornamental fountain in Saltoun Place in Fraserburgh regularly and have often thought the fountain would make a good blip subject. This morning I was in the Broch for church and I decided I had a couple of minutes to spare to stop. The road was quiet and it was a beautiful sunny start to the day. The fountain is just over 100 years old. It was built in the Saracen Foundry in Glasgow that belonged to Walter MacFarane, and is a good example of the ornate ironwork that foundry produced. It's a B listed building so is likely to stay where it is for many years to come, a relic of times gone by when public water supplies were needed in communities where indoor taps were a luxury. Some things have definitely improved in the last 100 years!

PS An hour or so later on my way home that blue sky had been replaced by a swathe of grey cloud. Carpe diem indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.