Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Mountains are Holy Places

I was planning to do a blip like this at some point over the next few weeks, but this week's readings in church involved mountains and therefore so did Canon D's homily so now seemed like a good time :-). I'd been thinking about the line from a psalm 'I lift mine eyes to the hills, from whence comes my help' but the reading referenced Elijah on the mountain, Moses on the mountain, Jesus being transfigured on Mt Tabor.....lots of mountains. I suppose it's because they make you look up!

Crieff sits right on the highland faultline so to the south and south east it's a broad strath then the Ochils and to the north and west it's all hills. Today's blip is out to the west. The bird flying into shot was pure serendipity.

I'm always reminded of one of my favourite Runrig songs which you can listen to here. which also has the line 'mountains are holy places'.

And if you're interested, there's a really good book by William Dalrymple 'From the Holy Mountain: a Journey in the Shadow of Byzantium.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.