Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

St Patrick's Day

So naturally, I was speaking at the launch of Islam Awareness Week. They had a display of what I think they called Celtic Islam - a bit startling to read at first since they used the Celtic style font, but it was interesting that they'd picked up various random Muslim references and understandings going back into early Scottish history.

I was almost brave enough to wish them happy St Patrick's Day, but not quite :-)

Now. A confession. Despite having the sort of west of Scotland family history and faith tradition that would make St Patrick part and parcel of my own personal history, it just wasn't so. I didn't grow up with any special reverence for him at all and neither had my parents any particular interest. Went to plenty of St Patrick's churches in various places but other than the childhood hagiographies, he didn't really resonate.

Not a problem, except when you're trying to blip something faith relevant throughout Lent and along comes St Patrick's Day, a gift to any blipper - but there's not a damn thing in the house of any bloody use!!

I had to borrow a friend's book, scrabble around for some green wool and crochet a shamrock. Yes. Stop sniggering. That's meant to be a shamrock.

I should just have bought a can of Guinness and blipped that!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.