Five mad Vizslas and a Harvey

JL and JY and I met up for a walk on Pine's Beach this morning. I had Cousteau, JL had Lenci and Harvey and JY had her three Vizslas.

It was a lovely morning for a stroll but I always find it less relaxing and more stressful the more dogs there are.

They were all pretty good until they wound themselves up, barking at another dog. They chased him into the sea and wouldn't let him come back in.

JY walked away in the hope that they would follow. They didn't.

The owner of the other dog swore at me. I asked him not to.

I ran away up the beach, waving my arms and shouting and probably looking like a loon.

Fortunately Cousteau took the bait and followed me. The others came not long afterwards. An unpleasant occurrence for all involved.

I understood where the man was coming from but swearing at me wasn't going to sort anything out. Being reasonable and working out how we were going to get the dogs calm would have been much more productive. He wouldn't believe that only one of the dogs was mine and was most rude.

I hope my calmness made him realise that bad language is rarely an effective solution.

Back home to a smidge of gardening (well, you don't want to over do it, eh?).

Baking bread at the moment and sorting out tea. Then some more unpacking.

Night.

Yesterday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.