Life through the lens...

By ValC

Small Faces

I just love these little violas, and their happy faces.
I brought a few of these back from Cornwall.

Morning spent washing and cleaning.
Afternoon spent in the garden.

Just tidying up, but before you know it 2 hours has gone.
I have two hoes, small fork, and trowel which belonged to my father and grandfather before him.
They are still better than any new tools I have bought. The hoe I used today was still so sharp, and it has never been sharpened since I have had it.
They don't make things to last anymore! These must now be about 100 years old, may be more.
They always bring back lots of memories.
As I have mentioned before, when he left school, my grandfather started out as an apprentice gardener at the Morrab Gardens in Penzance.
After working in Scotland, and Liverpool, he finished up in Bradford, as head gardener for Sir James Hill, at Chellow Dene.
So I think my love of gardening is in the blood!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.