Asbestos removal

Demolition of the old science block at school is now well under way. Inside the protective fencing, the building is wrapped in polythene while workmen inside remove the asbestos panels which made up much of the structure. The internal walls and most of the panels in the external walls have now been removed (so you can look right through the building and out the other side). Virtually all that remains is a rather lightweight steel skeleton - rather less substantial than the construction of the replacement building.

As the new block (where I am working) is a little way from the old building, I haven't seen much of the work going on, but today I was working for a while in the building opposite the old block and spotted this guy in his protective overalls. You may notice that he isn't wearing gloves or a face mask: that is because he is actually outside the polythene "tent", ensuring that it is still firmly attached to the wooden framework.

Although I had my camera in my bag in the new building, I don't normally carry it around with me on site. So when I saw this guy, I had to use my mobile phone for a quick shot through the glass window. It may be the only record I get of the asbestos removal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.