Liangge

By Liangge

OU Memory #14 - Stuart Hall Building

My 'last day' at OU - not really (as I can still return the following week) but many colleagues applied this 'farewell' convention when seeing me.

It was actually my last chance to attend the faculty's Research Day. Julie, my wonderful informant, emailed me in a sentimental tone that 'Sadly you may not be here for our next forum which is at the end of April'.

Thanks for everybody's concern and support over the 7+ years that I, with gratitude and pleasure, have been well cared, educated and entertained! I'm deeply rooted in the culture of Stuart Hall Building, from the ground floor to Level 3, from the red block (where I had peer discussions, supervisions and vivas) to yellow block (where I attended seminars, forums, presentations) to purple kitchen block (where I had lunch/tea talks), walking across the 'Sigh Bridge' to Social Sciences to visit my literary friend... It is the home base, the harbour, and the starting point of new journeys.

Another colleague once said to me that 'Oh! You are really contaminated by the OU culture!'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.