0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“What’s your favourite thing about her?”
“She puts me in my place, but also knows just how to make my day worth getting up for everyday.”
“What’s your favourite thing about him?”
“His oddly shaped belly button! *laugh* But no seriously, the way he has boosted my confidence in how I look, and that he makes sure he knows how beautiful I am everyday."



I don’t normally get to take portraits of couples, but I’m glad I stopped Becky and Danny here as they were really friendly, very much in love and very chatty. In fact, I must have spent a good hour talking to them both, which is a record for any of my interactions so far.

They have dreams of travelling the globe together, once they sort out their finances and jobs. Danny is a photographer, and hopes to use that to finance the trip by taking photographs along his travels. He seemed especially keen on macro photography, and I told him all about blip and he seemed especially keen.

I asked Danny whether he had any ongoing photography projects, or projects he would like to do in the future. He told me about one particular project which sounded great.

Danny grew up in the deprived area of Middleton, and his project would be based around taking pictures of families from that area in their homes. It would make a fascinating series I think, but we discussed in length about the difficulties of getting started, and the criticism he may face from the locals. He said he would have to take bodyguards with him, it was that rough. I’m not sure if he was exaggerating here, but I said it would be worth investigating as I certainly liked the idea of it. I’m keeping in touch with him to see how he gets on and maybe collaborate in the future.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.