0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

"How many guys on your Nursing course?"
"One"
"Good on him. Does he get teased?"
"Actually, no. He's quite outspoken, so he can take care of himself.”


I do admire and have genuine respect for nursing staff, and I told Rosemary so when she told me what she was studying. She was with a friend, also on the course, who gently persuaded her to agree to my photo request, I like those type of friends :)

I asked her what made her go into the profession and she replied, “I’m quite a caring person, I always have been so it made sense to do something with that.”

I don’t know how but we got onto the subject of male nurses, something of a topic in itself, so I enquired about any on her course - less than 1%. I was with my friend who butted in with, “I’d love to be on a course where I’m the only guy!”, which made everyone laugh. But then I thought about it further and thought that a male would have to be fairly determined and strong willed to go into it, not that there is anything wrong with it of course. Nursing is still seen as a 'Florence Nightingale’ profession, and is therefore female-dominated.

Rosemary will make a stylish nurse, I loved her pose.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.