My Own Personal Curlew

A short while ago, I blipped the lovely local bird breeding atlas.. This is the page I proudly sponsored. It was a hard choice, but the curlew is a bird that always feels very special to me. When the arrive and make their plaintiff calls up on our local moorland, it feels like spring has arrived. When we moved last year, I was thrilled to find that they breed only a couple of fields away from our house.
As the hard landscaping of our garden is nearing completion, we went plant hunting today. We are hoping to start with the 2 trees we will be planting, then the shrubs and climbers, but it's not an easy task to find the ones on our list. I'm reluctant to buy expensive plants online, and unseen. We managed to locate a few shrubs but finding the exact varieties of the trees and climbers could well be a difficult task. Our search wasn't made any easier by the heavy showers. Hoping the weather is better tomorrow for a walk we are planning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.