Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Male Chaffinch surveying the scene

I wasn't expecting anything on today's walk, but as I crossed the river, I saw a Grey Wagtail. It is probably not the one I photographed yesterday, as this one was over a mile away, but I can't rule that out as I was tracked a Dipper along a long stretch of river before I managed to get a picture.

I didn't plan to get a picture of another bird, but this opportunity eventually came to fruition. I was about to photograph this bird, but it flew off as a runner came storming along the path, barged in to me and continued running shouting Sorry. It came back briefly before another three runners appeared. A bit of peace and it reappeared, feeding off the ground, camera poised as a pair of dogs and owner made an appearance and it flew off.

By now I was getting frustrated, but it came back again, fleetingly this time. Yes another dog and owner came ambling past. By now I was think that I was going to have to not bother as the path was so busy.

Now my chance came, peace at last for quite a few minutes. The chaffinch started feeding off the woodland floor, quite close, but it was also quite dull. I was surprised that it didn't fly away, it must have known I was there, but it was searching through the leaf litter Then it flew up in to a nearby tree that was lit by hazy sunshine, and I managed to get this picture of the bird. It seems to be surveying the area, wondering where it can get a better meal. It looks quite good Large.

Then it flew back down to where it had been feeding and I took some more pictures just in case this one didn't come out as well as it could have. I then left to allow the chaffinch to feed in peace.

Later on I came across a Heron at the Bells Mills weir, but decided against a Heron Go Again tagline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.