Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Unexpected Blip of Grey Wagtail

I thought I would walk along the Water of Leith hoping to get a picture of a bird, but I wasn't expecting this one. The Dene Path was quite busy. All the birds were flying away before I could even focus. I took a few snaps of the water tumbling down the rocks, and even the Water of Leith footpath sign at Stockbridge.

Looking at my watch I decided the easiest way back to the office would be through Inverleith Park, so I followed the path along the new flood defence wall. There are less trees here, and it is quite built up. This is where I spotted this wee fellow and his misses hovering above the river catching insects for lunch. Despite the yellow feathers, it is called the Grey Wagtail. The black and white version is the Pied Wagtail.

Fortunately, this bird was quite relaxed about me being there on the path, although I am using the full 20X optical zoom to get this picture.Unfortunately I couldn't get a decent picture of either bird feeding, but carrying the large camera is not always practicable. I was also quite fortunate in that this path is considerably quieter than the paths in greener areas. The Grey Wagtail is also rarer than the Pied Wagtail. However, like last week's blip of the Heron, I am sure this one is also watching me, just in case I come a bit too close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.