A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

A Stolen Photo

I love this photo but I didn't take it, Rory did.

We spent today exploring Scotland's Secret Bunker (where we made friends with a cat named Cleo), Anstruther (where we had the best fish and chips in Scotland), got lost in Crail (where we saw new born lambs jumping in the fields) and St Andrews (where I introduced Rory to Janetta's ice cream).

I'd never been to Scotland's Secret Bunker and Rory said he'd been very little the last time he'd been there, so we set off early-ish this morning. It was good, not what I was expecting but good none-the-less! I will admit, I'm rather ignorant about the events of the cold war and I didn't even realise that Britain was involved, so I learnt a lot as we wandered around.

They have a cat who lives in the bunker, named Cleo, who was obsessed with my handbag. Everytime I placed my bag on the ground, the cat would attack the strap and try to bite the buttons on it! She is a rather cute cat, and if you ask me, playing with her was the highlight of the Secret Bunker!

We then headed to Anstruther, as Rory said that we had to go to The Fish Bar for the best fish and chips in Scotland whilst we were so close to the town. It's such a beautiful coastal town, I can't believe I'd never been before! We went for a long walk along the coast to a tower, seeing the town along the way and enjoying the scenery. We ended up climbing on to huge rocks which were protruding out into the see. The view from the top was incredible! You can see all the way to North Berwick, it's spectacular!

I will admit, I don't like fish. I've only ever had fish and chips once before (when Rory and I spent the day on Mull last July). However, the fish and chips from The Fish Bar were incredible! I would definitely go back just for the fish and chips! We sat munching on our dinner with a view of the quay as the sun started to set, before we set off towards Crail.

The coastal road between Anstruther and St Andrews is beautiful, you get great views! We didn't spend much time in Crail, other than getting lost, ending up on a very narrow and pot-holed single lane track beside caravan sights and stopping to watch the new born lambs leaping about the fields!

I made Rory stop in St Andrew's for ice cream before we headed back to Dundee, as he'd never been to Janetta's before. I stayed in St A's in
2010 for a week of summer school at the university, and I was introduced to the world famous ice cream shop then. It's wonderful, everyone must go! They're famous for their Iron Bru sorbet, but all their ice creams look amazing (there's even a brown bread one!). I settled for one scoop Ferrero Rocher and one scoop Nutella, whilst Rory went for one scoop oreo and one scoop of fudge. He seemed to love the ice cream as much as I do...I'll have to make sure I don't leave it two years before I go back again!

We headed back to Dundee, via Tesco (for tomorrow's dinner and petrol) listening to Tenacious D and Rory singing along word for word, reliving childhood memories. I will admit, they're not the worst band or singers (including Rory) in the world!

To end the day, we curled up in bed with Whittard's white hot chocolate, chocolate chip cookies for dunking and watched part two of the Top Gear Burma special before we both KO'd for the night.

One of the best days of my life. I love exploring with Rory! It's made me incredibly excited about our holiday adventures this summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.